New features and improvements for 3.1
We’ve been working hard lately, improving the default feature set for our 3.x release, as well as adressing several issues you’ve reported since the last 3.0.1 release. Currently, the list of new / improved stuff contains:
- The Bug Genie now works on hostnames other than the one it was installed on
This is one of the most commonly reported issues, where you will get an error stating that “The Bug Genie is not configured for this scope”. This happens if you install The Bug Genie via, say, “localhost” or an internal ip-address or URL, and later try and access it on an external address (or any other address than the one it was installed via). The Bug Genie will now load the default scope for all hostnames, and there is no specific host-configuration necessary.
- Scope support has been completely implemented
The Bug Genie is built to run multiple trackers on one installation, accessed via different hostnames. This feature was not completed in time for the 3.0 release, and we deemed it not important enough to delay the release. We’ve completed this feature now, which allows you to host several separate trackers on one installation of The Bug Genie. Users, projects, teams, groups, wiki, email – everything is self-contained within a scope, allowing you to let your teams or customers work in an even more separate environment.
- Issue update email notifications
The functionality that notified you when an issue was updated was broken in the 3.0 and 3.0.1 releases. This issue has been fixed in the 3.1 version.
- Client functionality security enhancements
The client functionality was a late addition in the 3.x version, and did not have a set internal definition. As such, the access definition rules were not specified before we released version 3.0. These rules have now been set, and you will now only be able to access clients which you are a member of. Alternatively, if you have the “Manage all clients” permission, you can access all clients.
In addition to the new features mentioned above, there have also been a number of new additions and improvements that are not “big” new features, including:
- You can now remove project teams and members from a project team
- Project team members now receive a default permission set applicable to their selected role. Similarly, it is removed whenever they’re unassigned.
- You can now delete users
- You can now toggle system comments in the issue view (system comments are hidden by default)
- Wiki articles can now have comments, similar to issues.
- There have been some improvements to users using non-latin character sets
- Issues now correctly reports their last modification date when modified (this is not backwards applicable, the last-updated time will be set when the issue is being updated)
The above list does not contain all the enhancements and fixes, but lists some of the things you’ve been asking for the most.
Have a good weekend 🙂